a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Crossed

We've all been on a bit of an emotional rollercoaster ride in the last 24 hours.  I've had my fingers, toes and everything else crossed for much of them.  

My sister Janet and I both suffer from a degenerative inherited and incurable kidney disease called PKD for short.  My mother died of it.  Sadly Janet's health is much worse than mine and she was very shortly going to have to go onto dialysis.  She has been on the transplant waiting list for a while, but you know how it is, there are far more that need organs than donors.

I heard from my brother-in-law Incredibish late yesterday that they had a donor kidney available for Janet.  They were involved in a late dash to Southmead Hospital where, earlier today, Janet underwent transplant surgery.  It seems to have gone well so far.

Needless to say, I didn't sleep much last night and have barely been able to concentrate today.  But the news is good and tomorrow I am going to see her in hospital - I can't wait.   

In the meantime, and for the foreseeable future, everything remains crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.