Round 3!

I could have gone walking with Colourful Mai but I'm feeling less than sociable and the weather was changeable. One minute glorious sunshine and then heavy rain - both accompanied by strong wind! So time for the final bout with the thorny plants - this time the Bougainvillea in my conservatory. It's at least 17 years old and is in such a large pot it's a beast to move in weight before one even takes into account it's thorns that scratch and attach themselves to clothing. Every time I go out to the garden it harpoons me and I tell it and myself that it has to be pruned. The last couple of years I have left it too late and the flower buds start appearing and I can't bring myself to cut them off. But this year was the year I tackled it! 
This took over an hour with a coffee break half way through! I first took off all the side stems and cut them into small pieces to fit in my kitchen compost bin. Next stage untangling the long stems which I had wound round and through in an effort to stop them looping out like the brambles on the allotment! Most were over 2 metres long before I did a second prune! At this point I had the George Clooney as I was getting caught in my efforts to rewind them round the main stems! So a final push to form a frame for future flowers and one which did not take up so much space in height and width! Last job fertilising and watering! Once more I emerged the victor!
As I made my way to the allotment girls come evening  I passed the church all lit up for evening service - I keep meaning to take photos of it and decided today was the day or rather early evening! Once the girls were tucked up I made my way back up the hill, cursing myself for having taken my tripod out of the car and not returning it. So low aperture and high iso and trying to stay steady in the wind I had fun in the graveyard and noticed the daffodils - I'll be back for those in daylight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.