Spider season

Best viewed *large*

It sure is too... I've been watching these garden spiders grow since the beginning of August. Now they're building their beautiful intricate webs amongst bramble, old grass stalks, twigs, even between man made objects like gravestones, as I was watching one spin their web when I went to water my mum's lavender on her grave.

Love them or hate them, if the latter, please bring yourself to look at the amazing patterns on this particular spider, as this is my favourite spider of all, she's a garden spider, every single creature is unique & it's the same with these spiders, every pattern different from the one a few cm's to the left or right, in her own web, living her own life... or his... I'm afraid I don't know too much about spiders, I guess both sexes spin webs? I really need to read up about these things!

As for Larry...

The long and moulting road

The weather has been hideous. Ok, so it's been warm. But just dull. Dullsville with a capital D. And then it just had to drizzle too. Tomorrow we're off to Exeter, a meeting with the bank, then dad need shoes & then a walk along the River Exe, sadly the last time my dad did that was with my mummy, so, going to try & enjoy it & hope she's with us. She was with me today, in the garden. For some strange reason I called out her name in the house, called out 'Mum' & she came to me in the garden, I saw a flicker & then smelt her beautiful sweet scent drifting around me. It sounds corny, it sounds sentimental, it sounds a load of bollocks rubbish, but she was certainly there. I called her name in the garden one more time. Everything went quiet. As I turned away, Charlie Cat came bounding up to me as if out of nowhere, mewing, purring, clawing... definitely significant, as I hadn't seen him up until then, today. xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.