Silverado's First Cat

Not as in "first lady" though she is a female. But as in first of several cats. The rule is, one cat for every 25 people. So right now since there are more than 25 and less than 50 people staying at Silverado, they need to have two cats. Ditto dogs. And then any number of other creatures.

So as of a few days ago when Janna was adopted from a place that specializes in rescue animals, there is now one resident cat. She is six years old and one of the sweetest and most affectionate cats I've met. I got to visit her in her own room yesterday. She had been there for a few days so she could adjust to her new surroundings. Now she is out and about and when we went where she likes to hang out she immediately came over to us. She sat on my lap, then Arvin's and then Helena's, purring all the while. I think she will be a good addition to the place. Meanwhile Surrey the dog is no longer here due to her tendency to pee inside the place. Too bad because she was affectionate and cute. So now they are looking for two dogs and another cat. I expect Jenna will be staying. She is so sweet. I don't think she was abused. Perhaps her owner passed away. Whatever happened, she is a loving animal and a good addition to the environment at Silverado.

I met a friend for breakfast before picking up Helena and heading out to Silverado. Her husband has dementia and so we talked quite a bit about what that entails. I suggested she return to our support group (She came once or twice.) where I know she will find many of the answers she is seeking. 

It is so great to have Helena home again after her visit with her mom in North Carolina. We spent quite a bit of time with Arvin at Silverado before I took her home and shopped on the way home myself. 

Arvin is still feeling lost and still doesn't remember our visits. But we both keep reassuring him that we have visited most days and plan to continue. His move to a new room has made him feel more lost. I think when he is there for awhile he'll be feeling better. One thing I like about his new room is that it is right across the courtyard from the dining room. And it looks out at the courtyard and not the street. I think the move will work well for him. He will be getting more care and more support there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.