DERELICT SUNDAY - ON THE RIGHT DAY!

I’m sure you have all heard the expression “Two heads are better than one” - that is certainly true for us - if I forget something, then Mr. HCB often remembers it and vice versa and although I take the photographs and write the journal, I do rely on him for his input.

After a good service at church today we went out looking for some dereliction and Mr. HCB remembered that when we had been out shopping a couple of weeks ago, we had seen an old bus down on a scrap heap at an industrial estate quite near to the road.

We had never really walked around this area of Swindon, called Rushey Platt, so back we went today.  I took several photographs of the old bus but then we saw a gateway that led along a bramble covered track towards a railway bridge and decided to explore that.

There was plenty of graffiti under the bridge, which I shall probably come back to photograph on another occasion, but this derelict and disused railway bridge of the former Midland and South Western Junction Railway looked good enough - or should that be “bad enough” - for today’s Derelict Sunday challenge.

Rushey Platt station opened in 1883.  It had four platforms, two on the curve to the GWR line and two at a higher level which led over the GWR line, in the form of a long foot bridge.  Many bridges and embankments remain, as do cycle tracks, including one from Swindon Old Town station to Rushey Platt and from just north of Rushey Platt to Moredon.

I think we will be coming down here again, but we will definitely need our walking boots, as it was rather muddy today.

“You have to cross many bridges 
     and you have to walk many paths 
          in your life! 
But what is more important than this 
     is to know which bridges 
          you should not cross and 
               which paths you must not walk!” 
Mehmet Murat ildan

P.S.  I apologise for not responding to comments on my Hellebore yesterday, but I didn’t feel too well in the evening and went to bed early - I feel much better today - but thank you all for the comments, stars and hearts, which are  much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.