Mono Monday : : Depth of Focus

Thanks to Skeena and his challenge to play with depth of focus I learned a lot today.

I took pictures of fences  and wire balls, stone walls and sticks, lemons and my good old standby, flowers..

I played with aperture priority vs. auto,  in-camera mono vs. post processing on the computer. I moved the camera and held it still. I don't have a tripod, so I didn't use one of those. 

I consulted OilMan. He is too literal to go for some of the more abstract results I got. He is, after all, an engineer.

I understand the relationship between aperture and depth of field better, but I still tend to do things the way I usually do.... press buttons and turn dials and see what happens. It's gotten me into some big trouble when it comes to computers....

I also learned to check the battery on the camera before walking down our long, steep driveway to take pictures of a bouquet of calla lilies growing next to the mail box. I took one batch of pictures which were promising but not quite right, so I trudged back down the driveway for a second go at it. The camera died when I turned it on. When I returned for the third time   after I recharged the camera battery, the light had changed, and some of the the flowers had opened a little more, revealing interesting spiral curves.

I think my results, such as they are,  will always be based on impulse and luck rather than reading a manua,l and I will probably always fall back on flowers and shallow depth of focus.

Thanks to Skeena for the inspiration...and the exercise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.