Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Look ma! One foot!

We are back from the NYC outing and settled back in at the homestead. Had a wonderful time in the City, as always. Lovely steak dinner last night (my once a year filet) and breakfast with my friend Kura today before we headed west.

Twelve years ago, we were also in the City on the night of our wedding, and 12 years ago today we were on our way to Greece for a wonderful 10 days. One of more memorable trips abroad.

I was all set to give you a hummer today, but the chickadees were just too cute to pass up. There seem to be 3 that are always together - my guess is that they are all that remains of this year's brood, but who knows. Anyway, this one was on the deck, in the basil, checking out the black-eyed-susan seed heads - in short, this little guy was being a typical inquisitive chickadee. It is that unabashed curiosity that endears them to so many of us. I liked this particular shot because he (or she) has his little foot tucked up, as if to say "look what I can do!!!"

I have to say that I was taken by surprise at the warm reception to yesterday's Beefcake shot - thanks to all the comments and stars, it went to the spotlight page today which I certainly never imagined! I thought that it was such a quintessential sort of thing to see in NYC - where else would a bunch of totally ripped, half naked guys not cause a stir? NYers were just ambling by, not paying them much mind at all. It is part of what I love about my former home and about NYers. So, glad you all found some humor in it!!

I posted a selection of other shots from yesterday in A Day in NYC Blipfolio, if you'd care to have a look. And, yes, there is another beefcake shot in there with a few more of the "cakes." Also a few of my rather feeble attempts at portraits on-the-sly.

Hubs and I both seem to be coming down with the sniffles - boo. However, vit C and lots of fresh veggies from the farm should have us fixed up in no time.

Happy Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.