Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Zorro the Hummie!!

There are only a handful of hummies left now so time is running short. Which means I am going to be doing a lot of hummie shots - brace yourselves.

This one tickled me because he looks so fearsome. Actually he was having a big preening session after a rain storm and this was one of the shots I got while doing continuous firing. I got a couple of other funny/cute shots which I have posted on Flickr if you'd care to look:

Attila the Hummie

How do I look?

An interesting hummingbird factoid: Hummingbirds can't bath in ponds or birdbaths because their legs are too short (they can't walk or hop) so they bath in rainstorms, sprinklers, misters or other air-born water. Last night I watched a young male hummer in a rainstorm - he spread his wings and fanned his tail and just perched in the rain like that - the first time I've even seen one do that. I got a few shots, but the lighting was low and Big Daddy doesn't perform all that well in low light so they were mostly crap.

When we got back from NY, I finished tucking a few more perrenials and some annuals into my new butterfly garden. And I was rewarded today when this glorious Monarch came to visit. This is SOOC, no crop, no nothing.

Hubs has come down with the dreaded Man Cold. Nothing is worse than this malady, apparently. He has retired to his man cave where only an occasional grunt or moan is heard. As for me, just a bit of the sniffles, nothing to get in the way.

Thanks for sending my little one-legged chickadee to the Spotlight. I think they are such adorable little birds - so good-natured and eternally curious. And, of course, they will be around all winter so you'll be seeing them again...

Happy Tuesday!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.