First Full Day of Spring!

At 10.25 am GMT yesterday the centre of the Sun’s disc crossed the Celestial Equator. This means that spring sprung in the Northern Hemisphere at that moment. Although astronomical spring therefore began mid-morning in the UK yesterday (as opposed to meterological spring, which began on 1st March), today is the first full day of spring, hence I reckon I'm justified in celebrating by blipping a photo of a tiny spring today!

This little spring is only 5mm long. I experimented by photographing it with my new telephoto lens, which I was so lucky to get at a fabulous discount at the Photography Show yesterday. Even though it's a tele lens it does focus down to 1.4 metres so it's not too bad for macros as well. (I also ordered a macro lens at show price but stocks had run out so I need to wait a few days.)

Those of you who are familiar with me finding blippable objects in our attic will be pleased to know that this came from there - I even knew exactly where to find it, which is a novelty! I've no idea what it came from however :-))

Many thanks again to Freyjad for hosting TT this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.