Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Vindolanda Project

Members of Hexham and District Photographic Society have been given free access to the Roman site of Vindolanda for a photographic project. We visit the site, take our images and then submit them for scrutiny to decide which are used in an exhibition in their visitor centre.

Today was my first opportunity to go and I tried to photograph as many people working at the site as I could.

I had great fun from the moment I arrived. The receptionist has some experience of posing for a camera club where she used to live, so she was happy to help. Then I met two young archaeologists who finished the job they were doing and then went with me onto the site for photographs. (This, sadly, may be where I lost a 50mm lens, although I did not know at the time.......)

Here is Tasha, serving my tea in the café. Her partner is a keen photographer so I suggested he comes to join our club.

My extra is of the bottles behind her.

Earlier today, I was in Newcastle for a review with the lovely psychiatrist who keeps an eye on my mental health. Then to Julie's to see her new house and have lunch together. She is certainly tackling the jobs with gusto and the place is already looking great. There is more to be done, of course.

It's going to freeze tonight and there is an aurora alert. I'm off to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.