Sherbet

We've now had Sherbet (Sherbie) for 5 days and have already learnt so much about canaries. I'm spending lots of time talking to him - we're now thinking it's a boy as he sings all day long and it seems to be developing from just a chirp, there are warbles and other tones.  We play the recording of the male canary singing, daily, as it's supposed to help develop their song, and he certainly responds to it.  It's such a happy sound!
.
He loves spinach and tonight he's had a bit of apple, we've bought a swing for the cage and are going to get him a mirror - one thing we've learnt is that it's not necessarily a good idea to get another bird, as they're quite territorial.

I put my hand in the cage every day in the hope that he'll get used to it and will eventually feed from my hand, I think that'll take some time though.  

I love this picture as you can really see his colouring with his white tail feathers.

The main news today is the tragic attack in London - my thoughts are with the families of all those affected.  Today was the anniversary of the Belgian attacks last year - will these senseless attacks ever end? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.