A 'DAY EARLY' SURPRISE

Tomorrow, 25th March, is the 50th anniversary of our engagement - so I decided it would be good to surprise Mr. HCB. 

The surprise I chose was Afternoon Tea at Chiseldon House Hotel, a beautiful hotel just a few miles from where we live and where our next door neighbour, Lynn, just happens to work.  However, the hotel is fully booked for tomorrow, with it being Mother’s Day on Sunday, so I thought that an early surprise would be good.

I was due to meet a friend for coffee at 12 noon today, so had to leave a note for Mr. HCB telling him not to eat too much at lunchtime, as the surprise did involve food - and it would be a shame to be so full not to enjoy it!

I had told Mr. HCB that he needed to be dressed smartly - well I didn’t want him wearing his old gardening clothes did I?  I also decided to wear a skirt and top - not something I do very often - so here we are, smartly dressed and enjoying a wonderful Afternoon Tea.  Mr. HCB had guessed where we were going, so I will have to be more discreet if I really want to surprise him again.  However, he had NOT remembered that it was the 50th anniversary of our engagement - but says he won’t forget the actual wedding anniversary next year - so that’s something!

When we arrived, we found an Engagement card together with a lovely bouquet of flowers from Lynn and her husband, Mike, on our table and we were looked after very well by Ryan, who of course, knew we were coming because Lynn had briefed him beforehand.

There weren’t too many there, so there was a pleasant “hum” of conversation all around and we enjoyed the afternoon very much.  Lynn was at her door to ask if we had enjoyed it, when we got back, so we told her it was the best Afternoon Tea we had had for a long time - and I told Mr. HCB I’m definitely not cooking tonight!  

We can definitely recommend Chiseldon House Hotel - in fact, Gold Star to all those involved from the receptionist to the waiter to the kitchen staff, who prepared the delicious food - and of course, to our lovely neighbour, Lynn.

“Under certain circumstances 
     there are few hours more agreeable 
          than the hour dedicated 
to the ceremony known as 
     afternoon tea.” 
Henry James, The Portrait of a Lady

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.