Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Senior Games

The Green Valley Recreation (GVR) holds its annual Senior Games during the month of March.  The kinds of events vary dramatically.  There are the more physical sports like pickleball, tennis, racquetball, wallyball, swimming , cycling, triathlon, hoops, track/field and table tennis. On the other end of the spectrum are some more sedentary events such as billiards and contract bridge.  Falling somewhere  in-between is the bean bag toss (aka corn hole).

The camera club needed photographers for every event so they asked members to give them dates they would be available throughout the month.  Of all the things I could have been assigned, I drew the bean bag toss. (At least it wasn't bridge).

Knowing that this 'sport' is basically an outdoor backyard game, I preset my camera to shoot action in a sunny environment.  I put on sunscreen, wore a hat and packed a couple bottles of water.  But when I got to the West Center I was told it would be in the auditorium.  So much for my thoughts of capturing blue sky, trees and colorful foliage in the background.  *sigh*

I tried being as creative with my shots as I could, but there aren't many ways can you vary shots when everyone is doing pretty much the same thing and you are dealing with lousy light, folded tables and other bits of junk around the edges of the room.  Did the best I could.

The extra was me trying to express a bit of creativity.

Huge blipmeet in Madera Canyon Tuesday morning.  Can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.