Northern Star

By Lifferz

Benny from the Bronx

This is Benny and he works at Katz Deli in New York- it is where I had my lunch today. It was a mixed experience to be honest. I took a cab and wasn't made to feel very welcome once I entered the place, but that changed when I ordered my food. I went for their most famous sandwich and Benny asked me how I liked my meat. Lean? "Yes" I said, that sounded good before he spent energy persuading me otherwise. Great great food. Shame some of the staff are not as friendly.

In other news I went into Macy's despite not wanting to touch any shops here. The old wooden escalators are great. Even the thing you stand on is wooden and they look kind of 1940s I guess and sound like the Big Dipper wooden roller coaster cranking up at Blackpool.

I saw my first ever musical and it was really really good. I didn't have high hopes after watching some clips on YT but I was glad I went for a Gershwin one. Matthew Broderick was really great- he is a very good comic actor- perfect timing. I roared a few times. It was like being in the 1940s watching a play about the 1920s...an amazing old small theatre and a fab audience.

I am now tucked up safely, ready to get my last bit of horizontalness for a while. I have a few more hours sight seeing tomorrow and then head to the airport early evening...fingers crossed it all goes smoothly!

Whilst I was in the deli I thought about recreating THE scene but I guess if you are on your own...you are pretty likley to get arrested or somesuch so I decided not to bother....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.