Northern Star

By Lifferz

A day of madness

I did lots of running around on my last (part) day in New York. It's been a great break. I've loved being able to follow my own agenda and do things at my own pace. My feet are sufferring though! I had so many choices to blip with today but this one of a young man using the observation deck on the Empire State Building was the winner for me and I haven't even looked at the memory card from my other camera yet. I'd already been up Rockerfeller for views but in a last minute decision after talking to a New Yorker in a Bryant Park I decided to go for it and I am so glad I did as it was really quiet and very different from the other views I saw- it's difficult to tell which was the better expreience. The interior of the Empire State is pretty interesting. I went to Battery Park and saw the Statue of Liberty and got some decent shots....it was a 5 mile walk (in heeled boots) in the sometimes torrential but warm rain rather that taking a cab and it was a fabulous experience seeing people going about their everday routines, away from the tourists till I reached the park. People were smiling at me and I was smiling back as we passed on the road looking like very sodden drowned rats- amused by the sights of each other. I don't think I have been so drenched. I thought I may not be allowed in a for Breakfast I looked that bad. I ended up unexpectedly walking down Wall Street and past the 911 area which was on the route (and not on my list of to dos), huge huge skyscrappers, lots of building work and there was steam coming up from the streets just like you see in the films. There was a lack of tourists outside the stock exchange ( just me) and I think the siruation may have been different a couple of years ago.

I think New York is a really interesting place, it is an assault on the senses sometimes it smells of mouldy damp cardboard, day old fish, spices, melting plastic and other times spicy beef...don't think I will miss that. There is always noise going on, taxis usally beeping despite the signs saying there is a $350 fine for doing so and a lovely hoot of boats and trains. The whistles of the trafic police trying despertatey to make themselves heard. Lots of passionate swearing, usally from men in their 40s. I saw one man try to beat up a taxi which was interesting- he didn't do much damage but the driver was pretty shook up.....

The subways is busy but efficient although not as starightforwards as the London Underground or the Paris Metro- no matter what the guides say. It feels generally safer than London and I could imagine living here. If you are on your own this is the perfect destination. You can walk into any cafe, bar, restaraunt and be fine- usually there will be other people in there on their own and if people chat to you and you don't want to talk everyone seems to be pretty relaxed about it. Infact the only hassle I had over my 4 days was from someone from the UK who got argumentative with me when I refused to let him by me a drink which say it all maybe? Interestingly the bar staff kept an eye on the situation and came over to let me know they were there for me- that was pretty cool :-) The Greenwich village area which I stumbled across I liked, the glitz and brightness of Times Square I wasn't so keen on but I am happy I saw it. I have met some rude and unfriendly people...a little like when I went to Paris- perhaps this is what happens as a result of mass tourism- but I have also met some of the kindest, most helpful lovely people who go out of their way to help and exaplain things when they spotted me looking confused. I have also enjoyed the fact that when I take time out in a cafe or a bar people can be quite proactive striking up a conversation- I'm not used to that at all but I liked it. I will miss New York. I'm not sure if I will ever be back too many other places I want to see or return to but as always I am open-minded so we'll see........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.