Northern Star

By Lifferz

Leaving on a Jet Plane

Seems like John Denver is following me around this trip. Here is a picture of the Virgin Atlantic plane I was about to board. It was a turbulant crossing and the words "please don't let us crash" entered my head a few times. I will miss things about New York but I am glad to get home. I have a list of things to do and a lot of study to finish off. At night the tempertaure here is so much colder than in balmy New York.

The flight was good and I managed to sleep for a few hours. I did some Karmic Yoga* in that a man asked if he could swap seats with me so he could sit next to his brother (they looked virtually identical). I agreed and took the seat behind which mean't I was sitting next to 2 different argumentative brothers who soon calmed down and were ok to sit with. The guy infront i swapped with looked over at me in a very apologetic way when he head them getting fed up with each other. I did however have no leg room as there was a metal box under the seat infront.......fingers crossed karma gives me a little pay off for that when i need it. It usually does.

At the airport whilst waiting to board I was reading 'A picture of Dorian Gray' by Oscar Wilde...my friend Helen (also a blipper) made me think recently about reading. I think I must have read about 90 books when I did my English Literature A level, she was in my class, and I think this may have been on one of the 'reccommended' lists but I never got round to it.

At the airport a man came to sit next to me- he was about 30 and after relaxing in his seat he got 'The Anger Control Workbook" out of a carrier bag
and started doing some of the exercises for all of 2 minutes before clicking his pen top on and off soooo much I thought smoke may start coming out the top of it.....here we go I thought I'm going to end up sitting next to this bod for the next 7 hours on the plane...it didn't happen though :-) I am almost certain his ex-girlfriend probably told him he needed help which resulted in this likley amazon purchase....

I enjoyed flying Virgin, the plane back was smaller but much better. I suspect if I am ever lucky enough to go to Vegas again I'll be chosing this airline- they were fun, colourful and heavy on the freebees. We were given 'Love Heart' as sweets to suck for landing...I'm not sure love hearts are kind of thing you suck, and a few of the non-UK travellers were bemused by the puropse of this gesture...bit like giving out popping candy- but what do I know?? Great to be back in my bed, in my house....tomorrow I will have to look at what the garden looks like, check the old car still drives, sort car insurance and check my bank account...study is on the cards too.

*Karma yoga is often understood as a yoga of selfless (altruistic) service. Karma yoga is described as a way of acting, thinking and willing by which one orients oneself toward realization by acting in accordance with one's duty (dharma) without consideration of personal self-centered desires, likes or dislikes. One acts without being attached to the fruits of one's deeds.As with a number of other philosophies in Hinduism, karma yoga is based on a general understanding of karma and reincarnation (sanskara). It is believed that a man is born with certain tendencies (Sanskaras), both positive and negative, from his previous lives, which push him toward performing certain actions in his present one. This process continues until the individual attains a zero balance (no karma remaining), wherein one achieves liberation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.