WHAT A LOVELY DAY!

Chris and I have been friends since she was our younger son's teacher in the early 1980s and although we haven't seen a lot of each other, we have kept in touch over the years. 

Today I went down to Exeter on the train, just for the day, to meet up with her and we've had a lovely day together. 

After a quick coffee stop at her house, we went to Exmouth for lunch and then had a walk along the promenade. There was a bracing wind but at least it wasn't raining so we chatted, laughed and reminisced and I took some "fun" selfies.

The top left photograph shows how windy it was and the bottom one shows us "baring our teeth" with a Dromaeosaurus, one of the many dinosaurs dotted around Exmouth - wonder if you can guess which one is the dinosaur?

We were quite chilled and windswept after our long walk so had a welcome hot chocolate at a café overlooking the beach in Exmouth, and as Chris had told me earlier in the day that she had a surprise for me later that involved coffee and cake we drove back to Exeter and made our way to a café called the Boston Tea Party.  

At 4.30 Claire, a friend of Chris's, who is actually one of my friends on Facebook, but whom I had never met, walked in and we spent the next hour chatting and getting to know one another in person.  I actually follow her nephew's blog, The Breast Days of Our Life, which is very moving, so having been in touch with Claire for sometime it was great to meet her - see the photograph at the top right of her and Chris.

All in all, a wonderful day - what a delight to meet up with Chris again and to meet Claire at last. Thank you both so much. 

"I cannot even imagine 
     where I would be today 
          were it not for that handful 
               of friends 
who have given me 
     a heart full of joy. 
Let's face it, 
     friends make life a lot more fun."
Charles R. Swindoll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.