An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Wonderful thing about Tiggers...

My alarm went off on my phone at 6.30am and as I switched it off I noticed I had a text from the M&S delivery men saying they were in the area and would be delivering our sideboard within 30 minutes.  Then I noticed the text had been sent at 6.00am!!  

David insisted there was no way they would  deliver before 7am and went to have his shower.  He was ready and downstairs by 6.45 (oh how I envy the speed at which men can get ready!) and sure enough they didn't ring the bell till 7.04am!  Can't fault them though as they brought the sideboard in, unpacked it, checked it, placed it in it's rightful place then cleared away all the packaging.  Excellent service.

David then headed off to work for his second last day and I spent the day ironing and awaiting delivery of the lamp tables from John Lewis that were being delivered this afternoon.  They arrived just before 3pm.

Thankfully the sideboard matches the dining room table so keeping my fingers crossed that lamp tables to do.  Not opened those boxes yet.  Johnny the joiner was a sweetheart and unpacked the boxes containing the dining room chairs that the delivery driver dumped in the garage yesterday.   He brought the boxes into the hall and I couldn't resist unpacking one of them as I was so worried the chairs would be uncomfortable, despite the claim of the designer otherwise.  Thankfully they are comfortable.  Sat on one and it hugs my back perfectly.  Ideal for sitting back and relaxing after a meal.  

It was David's leaving presentation and Ritual Humiliation at work this afternoon.  Apparently the presentation they made up using the embarrassing photos I'd sent went down very well with all the staff.  I think David got the shock of his life when he realised what was coming!  Sarah has emailed him a copy of the presentation so we're going to watch it on Saturday night when we come back from being out for dinner with Eleanor, Kenny, Agnes and Adrian (the meal out was supposed to be a surprise but it became very complicated so decided it was easier just to tell him!)  

I had forgotten that David's nickname at work is Tigger, apparently due to his cheerful demeanour even in the most trying of circumstances (well seen he's not called that at home! ;-) so that was the theme of the afternoon's celebration.  Lots of laughter and some fine homemaking from his boss (a Victoria sponge but instead of buttercream filling, she'd made the filling from his beloved Reece's peanut butter cups.)  He's going to miss her delicious home baking!

Think it got all a little emotional at the end of the day as not all staff are in on a Friday, so those that won't see him tomorrow came to his office to say their goodbyes.   

One more day then it's official.  He'll be working for me!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.