An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

David's First Last Day Ever!

My alarm went off at 6.45 and I was up and in the shower before David even blinked.  When he did surface, he was going about the house singing.  Funny that :-)

He headed off just after 8pm.  His last commute!  

When I got downstairs just after 9, Alan the electrician was here doing some last minute tidy up jobs including fitting speakers in the ceiling of the study and making safe electrical wires that the previous builder had just left taped up in the loft.  He also discovered the extractor fans from Alan's shower and the Carer's room shower were just pumping steam into the loft.  They'd never been vented out through the roof!  Honestly, that lot of builders we used when we first moved here have turned out to be a right shower!   He's added fixing those to his every growing list of tasks!

Johnny the jointer and the apprentice arrived and set about putting the flooring back down in the loft that had been lifted to let the electrician do his work.  Hopefully we can now get the mountains of stuff that had to be removed for the duration, back into the loft.

Johnny, the apprentice and the electrician left after lunch and Thomas the tiler (its hilarious, we've got Johnny the Joiner, Thomas the Tiler and Paul the Painter on this job!  :-))  arrived to prepare the utility room floor for tiling.  Unfortunately the prep means we can't use the washing machine tonight as we're not allowed to walk on the floor until tomorrow but I am sure we'll survive.

David texted a short while ago to announce that is him officially retired and he was heading to the pub with the work crowd before going to the restaurant at 6pm.   I am glad he's not coming home tonight!  

I am just about to blow up the retirement balloons and look out the banners and Ashleigh and I will get the place decorated for his return tomorrow, a free man!  :D  

Today's blip is a lazy shot of an artificial hydrangea bloom that I bought recently.  Blippers who know me well will know I don't possess a single green finger and always end up killing plants and flowers, so I have bought a couple of artificial plants (this and an orchid), just to see how they look.  Thankfully I am pleased with them as they don't look too fake.   

With D out celebrating his retirement this evening, I am planning a quiet night of feet up and relaxation.

Have a great weekend Blip Pals :) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.