Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Extended lunch

Today has been a very good day!

Starting with a good catch up with my web designer (he's been away nearly all of March and was then sick). Good news from his side. The website is ready and just undergoing testing. I talked through some important things that need to be done almost all of which involved needing email addresses with the new domain. The two most important ones got created right away. I just need to set up a PayPal account now so I can get paid!

And then we travelled over to The Mall to meet up with an old colleague of Gs. They worked together for a few years when G first arrived in Dubai. Kathy's take on the world is very sensible and she always sees the funny side of things, so there were lots of laughs; and at the end of lunch, I was able to have Arabic coffee! So pleased to have found somewhere I can get it at a reasonable price.

Home to create the PayPal account and catch up with a few other bits. April Fool's day no less... had a whats app message to say that starting 1st January 2018, the UAE will introduce 15% income tax, 6% remittance tax alongside the 5% VAT long publicised. Yeah right.

PS. That's Wild Wadi in the background.
PPS. Can I introduce you to fellow Dubai blipper LeeLangPo who marks his tenth blip today. Lee was our waiter the first time we visited this cafe, and we had a great (and long) chat about photography!
PPPS. The reason for my title is because our lunch lasted just under four hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.