Bellingham Balloon Fairies

Today was the first day of the Bellingham Farmer's Market. I went down to shop because my favorite bread baker, Sophie, owner of Raven Bread, was there and it has been quite awhile since I had some of her bread in my freezer. I love her bread, dense, sour and delicious, filled with really good things, healthy and did I say delicious? I bought two loaves of rye bread (the kinds you see in the front of the extra photo) and a couple of sweets too. I stopped at the honey gal's booth and tried some samples. The raspberry honey was very very yummy so I bought some of that. I met these gals on my way out. they are the Bellingham Balloon Fairies and they are always at the fair giving face paints and balloons to kids, and adults as well. I saw one fellow with a face paint who was not a kid. It looked good.

I stopped at my favorite plant store, the Garden Spot,  on the way to the market and bought a small potted lilac to put on my deck near the hummingbird feeders. I also bought some smaller plants that hummers love. This year I want to have plants on my deck that hummingbirds love so that they will stay around when they don't need feeders anymore. Last year they got very scarce as the flowers bloomed nearby. 

After the Farmer's Market visit I drove up to Silverado and spent a couple of hours with Arvin. We sat in the lobby where Nancy was baking brownies and reading trivia questions for all to answer. Arvin got some and so did another fellow who must have some kind of science background. He kept telling us what "calorie" means. I like Nancy very much and had fun laughing with a number of the residents. It was a happy relaxed time. I came home before the dinner time at Silverado because I had eaten half a small pizza at the market and I was pretty darn full.

The day started with gray skies and rain. It was blustery and cold at the market, but not raining. Now the sun is out and it is lovely. That's the Pacific Northwest. If you don't like the weather, wait awhile and it will change, hopefully for the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.