Love in the Spring

I didn't expect to catch the male and female Rufous Hummingbirds flying together. It was a lucky accident. I was sitting in a chair having a quiet moment with my telephoto lens trained on the bird feeder where I had seen both birds feeding. Suddenly - Zoom Zoom - they were there together. This was the only shot where I got the two full in the frame in reasonable focus. What a treat. I love it when these things happen. I know it takes showing up to be there when it does, but I still consider luck to play a very large part.

I had difficulty sleeping due to some mail I got yesterday about long term care and health insurance. It did not look good. So I called my eye doctor and the hospital and it looks like the insurance did in fact cover my eye surgery even though the letter I got looked like it didn't. What's with that? Anyhow, I've put that letter in the "do not worry" pile. 

The other is a bit more worrying but I do think it will work out. Worst case scenario I'll be paying a fat premium payment on Arvin's policy which really should not be the case. Best case scenario I'll get some money back for the time between December 16 and January 5th. It's a long story. Right now I'm waiting for a call from the claims department.

I visited Arvin in the late morning and found him still snuggled in his bed. I woke him and he got up and dressed with help from a care giver. He was in a chipper mood so we spent an hour and then had lunch together. The kitchen is using up the surplus food from the open house on Tuesday so our choice was salmon or lamb lollypops (yes, really), small chops from the rack of lamb that didn't get eaten. I chose the lamb and was treated to some delicious tender little chops. In fact Leo the chef came by and offered me more chops. Did I refuse? Of course not. These I shared with Arvin who also enjoyed his salmon.

Arvin and I relaxed together for another half hour and then I took off to buy bird and cat food and pick up a medicine for me. I was really tired and decided to take a nap after I spent about an hour on the deck photographing birds. I saw lots of hummers including one Anna's along with the pair of Rufous. When I sat down I fell asleep on the couch and didn't get up for over two hours. 

I could barely walk when I woke up, as I wasn't in the most comfortable position. But soon my joints relaxed and I was fine. A bit cold. But making myself a "glop" for dinner warmed me up. Glop is a family thing made from left overs and cans of soup. This one had minestrone, stewed tomatoes, some shrimp, and brown rice. It was quite yummy and there is enough left for another meal. That is how glop works. You finish one and you are on your way to another.

After dinner I worked on my photographs and selected some of the hummer photos for my blip. Now it's time for binge watching of Heartland. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.