Avian Encounters

I took three photos today. The first two were of the clouds and light over the lake. The sun was trying to shine through but it looked like it might rain. While I was standing on the deck, a Pileated Woodpecker flew in, touched down on the railing, and took off again. I could hear it calling but it didn't come back. 

Today my friend Raven was coming to work with me on continuing to clutter clear the garage. While I waited I finally took down the Christmas ornaments and put them in their storage boxes. I knew Raven could help me carry them back into the garage when she got here.

She arrived just in time for me to complete the task and we carried and stowed the Christmas stuff. Then we worked on the garage. I finished the side near the laundry door and Raven worked on the other side, the one filled with all kinds of weird and amazing stuff Arvin had collected. He is a bit of a major packrat and there is stuff in boxes that I cannot imagine ever finding a need for. Raven got two shelves cleared and that was an achievement.

When I finished my side I went out on the deck. Raven had moved the barbecue from the garage so I was moving stuff around to place it. The little Rufous hummers were darting about so I got my camera and sat for awhile. The sun was out and I hoped to get a good one of the male in all his orangeness. Of course once I sat, he buzzed me, took one look and took off. I sat and relaxed for at least twenty minutes and then the female showed up. I took this one photo and off she went. I'm glad it turned out to be a good one.

Around three I took off to visit Arvin at Silverado. On the way I looked up and saw a large hawk circling in the air. It was a thrill. I spent some time with Arvin, walking, talking, hanging out with a friend of Helena's who works at Silverado. I stayed for dinner, mac and cheese with sausage, strawberry ice cream for desert. Then I took off and came home to feed the kitties. 

I got the mail and was happy to learn that the Atomic Heritage Foundation has now got a piece on the house we lived in at Los Alamos. The sound track is from my mom's speech. You can find it here. Be sure to click on all the links. You'll hear my mother's voice (slightly higher than I remember it) from a lecture she gave quite a few years ago. It makes me happy that her words are still around. She was always a story teller and this demonstrates how engaging she was.

I sent a link to my son and we had a good long chat about our memories of both of my parents. We also talked about when we will get together this summer and where. That is still a work in progress.

Well time to watch some more Heartland. Have a great day, night, afternoon, what ever time it is where you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.