Blossom and the Bedlam Theatre

There are some days when it might have been better not to have got out of bed. This was one of those days.
It should have been a good day. His Lordship was off to the hills and I had the day to myself. What possessed me to visit the Apple Shop and upgrade my phone I will never know, only that the contact on my existing one is up shortly.

There were many hoops to jump through to get the new one under contract, but the one that proved a barrier was knowing offhand my RBS account number. There was a quick yomp round to the main RBS branch in St Andrew Square to find out and then a tedious supervised transferring of all things important between the phones, overseen by a very patient salesgirl whom I got to know fairly well over the ensuing hour as I watched the little blue line of accomplished data retrieval get longer.

I will not bore you with the subsequent phone call to O2 to negotiate a tariff rate. I hate these phone callsl because I find it difficult to interpret the accents when not confronted with a face. At least this one was British, only Liverpudlian is not the easiest accent.

Sometimes I harken back to the days of old land phones in black Bakelite, even with a party line as was common, and notebooks and pencils. All this technology which the younger members of our world, including toddlers, find so easy and straightforward is a mine field to me and I am meant to have had a scientific training.
My head is hurting ........badly.

There is a certain peace and calmness in this blip of blossom in front of the Bedlam Theatre and which disappeared from my day very quickly thereafter......well maybe the bedlam bit continued !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.