The Contents of My Life

Well not quite.

There are 3 boxes upstairs, another mattress, 2 beds, a set of drawers, dressing table, fridge/freezer, washing machine/drier, bike, 5 plastic cubes of stuff in the garage, gardening tools, and my little family of ice axes, crampons, and helmet.

And that's about it.

My day has been pretty relaxed. The furniture I didn't want was picked up and taken to Habitat for Humanity's op shop. My mattress was taken, fixed, and returned. It was damaged when I moved out for my second repair. Don't ask, it's in the past and I'm moving on.

The tail of cyclone Debbie is still still raging outside but it will be fine tomorrow. Nothing will make tomorrow very good for the people of Edgecumbe, an entire town evacuated as a one in 500 year flood engulfs it. The images are staggering.

Anyhoo, tonight is the last night I sleep in Christchurch city. Tomorrow I'll sleep beyond the city limits in my new home in the Selywn District.

Only one more big sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.