Same Boxes, Different House

I shifted today the culmination of nearly 4.5 months of decisions, second quake repair, maintenance and preparation for selling, selling, buying, due diligence, packing... 

And finally settlement today. The chain of firstly the settlement of my sale followed 20 minutes later the settlement of my purchase was clock work. It was all through by midday.

My really cheeky mate took a ute load of outside furniture and pretty much the contents of my garage in the morning. The movers were due at 1.30 but were running late. They arrived at 2.30pm and 3 hours later they left my new place. That included nearly an hour of travel between houses for them, such was Friday afternoon traffic.

I had the help of 2 lovely friends and a cousin today. One friend arrived with lunch and then did a bit of cleaning. My other friend loaded up her car with stuff she could deliver Saturday and stayed at the old house to vacuum after the movers have left.

Cousin Tim and I headed to the new house with our cars full of stuff. We unloaded before the truck arrived and then helped the guys get stuff out of the truck.

I took the photo at 5pm with sun and warmth streaming into my new home. It's all a little weird tonight, like being in a motel but with my own bed.

My new start has begun a new chapter :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.