One for Arthur

My parents always had the tradition of picking horses for the Grand National by their names and I've followed that on when, along with most of the rest of the nation, I have a flutter on the National. Today, on opening the paper, there was only one horse in the race for me; One for Arthur - being my Dad's name.

I never like watching stuff like this live on TV and anyway I couldn't as I was doing feedback on a referee I'd been watching (see extras) at the race time.  So it was a great pleasure to find out afterwards that One for Arthur had won. A great sentimental and moving moment and one that will stay in my memory for a long time. And not to mention, quite profitable too.

Spring and warm sunshine continue to be the order of the day. Our customary walk into town was lovely as was the coffee. Blossom was everywhere including on this tree which I have no idea what it is. It was warm watching rugby too, very unusual to be standing on the touchline without many layers of clothing cold and wet.

We spent a very enjoyable evening at friends Nigel and Hazel, being entertained, fed and watered. Nigel is a great one for brewing beer, curing bacon, making sausages and the like. I had the enviable task of tasting some of his different brews. They were very good indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.