Flabbergasted blackbird

I do so like the term 'flabbergasted' and I do think this female blackbird was just that ! I caught her rummaging in my plant pots in which I've been sowing poppy and nigella seeds with those seedlings just popping up last week. As much as I'm sympathetic to birds I'm not going to sacrifice my seedlings to her nesting activities, so I've quickly put the pots in the glasshouse. Imagine her surprise when she returned for another beak-full of dirt and found them gone. A lot of hopping on the two other pots resulted and looking around in what seemed amazement. She's been back several times since.  For MonoMonday, with thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting. The rather tenuous link to this week's theme of 'CORNER' is that the pots were on the corner of our terrace plus she does seem to have a growth at the corner of one eye.
For the rest it's a grey day, at least 10 degrees C colder than yesterday and I'm wheezing like mad with hayfever , so maybe the colder weather is a blessing in disguise hopefully chasing away the pollen.

Thanks very much for your kind comments on yesterday's ICM landscape, my non-arty menfolk thought I had gone crazy posting something as flawed as that ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.