"On the Sunny Side of the Street...."

Dear Diary,

At this time of year, when melting has well and truly begun, you see evidence of it everywhere and in some places it is very stark.  This is the west end of the Ossipee Trail heading towards Freedom, New Hampshire.  I pulled over so I could photograph the stark divide between winter and spring.  On the right, south facing hill, spring has sprung but on the left, north facing side, we are still in winter.

Today and tomorrow will be very warm, in the 70'sF.  There will be a lot of melting.  So far, no major flooding although the Ossipee River, which runs along beside this road, has spilled over its banks here and there.  Mount Washington is still completely snow covered and probably will be well into May but we have turned a corner and everyone is thrilled.

All my life I have chosen to walk on the sunny side of the street as the old song suggests.  I never saw much sense in the "gloom and doom" mindset.  I am definitely a "glass half full" sort of person.  Until proven otherwise, I think the best of people.  Am I ever wrong?  Certainly.  But I just feel that it is a good way to go through life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.