Resting Rudy

Dear Diary,

Rudy has been taking little naps on the porch lately.  Really, dozing off on the seed can.  Most of the time he just sits like this, paws folded, head down.  I thought this was a perfect image for Palm Sunday.  I am a bit concerned that I see some dark lines on his back.  I hope he isn't getting the same condition as Elizabeth!  She does seem to be growing a bit of fur back though so that is a good thing.

I think Rudy just feels so safe here on the porch that he can take a brief siesta from time to time and that makes me feel good.  I want my little ones to feel secure.  The world is such a scary place that having a sanctuary is important.

This house has always felt like that to me.  All those years I drove here on Friday afternoons after school got out.  I remember there was a sign on the highway that always made me smile, "Freedom next right".  Freedom was the name of a town in New Hampshire and I knew when I saw it I was almost home.  Feeling safe at home is the best kind of freedom there is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.