Fox And Duck(lings)

Backblip as broadband failed again.

I went for a walk early as it was such a beautiful day and being Palm Sunday, I fancied photographing a donkey. No "Devil's walking parodies" in range but I was delighted to spot through the foliage this mallard with her brood of fourteen on our neighbour's lake. I spent some time trying to get a better view but she cleverly made sure that I couldn't. It was so warm that by the time I went back to the house I was sweating. I urged MrQ to stay in the shade as the heat gets to him.

I went out with the camera again after lunch looking for the ducklings and startled a fox on the bank of the lake. (Extras) It's not old fox but might be recovered Reynard. I do hope mummy mallard took her young over to the island.

Today's poem is Lights Out by Edward Thomas. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/57199

ET was a lover of solitude and the English countryside but was a troubled soul. He was killed on this day one hundred years ago on the first day of the Battle of Arras. I follow ecologist and poet Dr Tim Gardiner on Twitter, having met him on the seawall at Bradwell. He has written a book entitled East Of Arras about his great uncle's experience in The Great War. From him I learnt that there was to be a service of commemoration for ET at Adelstrop church. If I had heard about it earlier I might have gone as I love that part of the country. We drive through it on early morning S2000 meets.  The beguiling Adelstrop is probably Edward Thomas' most well-know and loved poem.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.