Gardening

Spring is definitely in the air so I decided today was the day to start sorting out the garden which we've pretty much ignored since moving in to our house in October!
The grass is about a foot long, the biggest trampoline known to man is just plonked in the middle, there's loads of crap left by the previous owners which needs taking to the dump, there are all the remnants of cut down trees and hedges which have been such bodge jobs that most of them have ended up in our garden and on the roof of our sun house, the patio needs power washing and garden furniture needs painting.
I'm not someone who deals well with a long to-do list. I get a bit overwhelmed by it and end up doing nothing!!
But one thing at a time, I decided to buy a lawnmower today!!
The one I liked the look of was in stock in Bicester so I went over to my mum's for a cup of tea and then we went up to Homebase together. 
I got the lawnmower and my mum bought lots of lovely pansies and violas.
She also bought me a fatsia as a garden-warming present. When I first bought my house in Nottingham I planted a few fatsias in the garden which grew into monsters!! I love them!
Our garden here is pretty shady in parts I'm going to fill it with pots of ferns, hostas and fatsias.
What I want is for it to end up like my mum's beautiful garden. Although I may need to paint the house pink to get the full effect!!
After Homebase we sat out in her garden for a bit drinking tea while Papa painted furniture out in the sun. Just gorgeous!!
Then it was home just in time for the Grand National. We all chose a horse this morning and bet £1 each. I went for One for Arthur and won £19, woohoo!!!!
Miss E surprised us when we were looking at the horses, casually mentioning to Mr K that he'd bet on Rule the World last year and won hadn't he? 
The things they remember!!!!
While I'd been gone Miss A had come round to play with Miss E and then they'd met up with Miss J and their mum and dad at the park. So they've had a lovely day in the sun!! 
Before taking them home Mr K (Miss A's dad!) went to his car for some honeycomb straight from his hives and let us try some. I've never had honey like that before, it was AMAZING!!!
My Mr K mowed the front and back lawns before bed which look great. Operation Sort-out-the-Garden begins in earnest tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.