MEMORIES ON MAUNDY THURSDAY

Sometimes it’s good to relive memories, especially ones that have had a big impact on our life.

At this time last year - not by date, but by season, we were about to have our final rehearsal for the Wroughton Passion Play, which was due to take place the following day.  Of course, we had no idea what the weather was going to be like, whether people would come or what impact the play would have, not only on the lives of those taking part but also on the lives of those who came to watch.

When Good Friday dawned, it was a glorious day - the sun was shining and it was really quite warm, considering it was the 25th March.  It was a wonderful day and one that will stay with me for a very long time.  

So today, I wanted to go back to the church in Wroughton, the Parish Church of St. John the Baptist and St. Helen, just to sit quietly and to ponder on what this Holy Week is all about and to remember back to last year.

It’s the first time I have been back to the church since last year when about 1,000 people crammed in and witnessed the scene of Jesus being dragged off to be crucified and as I looked up to the bell tower where a lot of the action took place, I remembered how moving and emotional it was for all of us.  I was in the church on my own so was able to wander around, pray and remember.  The true meaning of Easter gets largely forgotten in the excitement of Easter eggs, Easter bunnies and chicks and the fact that for those working it is a four day break from work.  

But for those of us who are Christians, it is much more than that.  Maundy Thursday, the day before Good Friday commemorates the Last Supper that Jesus had with his disciples, when he washed their feet and shared a meal with them before he was nailed to a cross and crucified.

In my role of Mary, the Mother of Jesus, I wonder how she felt on the night before he was crucified?

My dear son,
     I gave birth to you
          and watched you grow
               but I never thought 
                    it would come to this.
My love for you will never change,
     and I now realise that your love for me
          is a love that will continue
               for all eternity.
Your Father knows my fears
     and has seen my tears
          and His love will
               carry me through.
Thank you for being my son,
     my beautiful son - 
          you have fulfilled the purpose
               for which you were born and
I will always thank God, 
     your Father and mine,
          for choosing me 
               to be your mother.

© Maureen Iles - 13/4/17

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.