The Bluebell

Basil and I spent the afternoon in The Outwoods, where the bluebells are already making a show, albeit three weeks early. It was very pleasant in the sunshine. The woods sheltered us from a keen wind.

It's been a while since Baz and I have had a long ramble. I was mortified to discover just how weak my knee has become, despite wearing a brace. It took me much longer than normal. Basil of course, felt liberated, running up and down paths, greeting canine friends and jumping on and off rocks.

Unlike last year, when I concentrated on trying to get the impression of bluebells crowded together using a long lens, this year I was experimenting with multi-exposure in camera. The Canon 5dmkiii and iv are far more advanced than the Fujifilm cameras. The Canon cameras enable you to take up to nine (should you need them) exposures and choose your starting image. The photos can be blended in light, dark or additive mode. I found that having at least one photo taken with intentional camera movement (ICM) can help, at least for this beginner. Today's photo combines an ICM base with a single subject, the bluebell. The bluebell itself was also in the light spot on the right hand side of the ICM photo. It's essential to pre-visualise the final outcome.

Garlic prawns for supper, as ever. But I did get to Watch The Book Thief on Film 4, which seemed remarkably close to the book. A touching story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.