Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Birds in Blooms and courtship

Well, this was a lucky shot, no doubt.  I heard the soft warbling of the bluebirds while I was sipping tea on the deck this morning.  I spotted them both perched on the cherry tree and thought I'd try to get a shot of them together.  As I was firing a burst, he took off and this shot is the result.  I'm very pleased.  And if you look closely, you'll see that she's talking - pretty sure she's saying .... Happy Easter!

Shortly after this shot was taken, both of them launched an attack on the house sparrow who was lurking about in a menacing fashion.  The sparrow, unfortunately, seems undeterred.  Updates to follow.

Thanks for all the love on yesterday's "birds and blooms" finch.  There were at least a dozen of them out at the feeder this morning, along with several dozen goldfinches.

And, last night, we had our first verified bear sighting.  My critter cam picked up the bruin at about 4:20 this morning as he was making his getaway with one of my feeders.  Happily, I was able to rescue and repair the feeder this morning.  From now on, however, things will be brought in every night.  Sigh.  Let the games begin...Debbi vs. bear/s.

Happy Easter.  Or Happy Sunday if you don't observe Easter.

xo
Debbi

PS:  The whole Birds and Blooms Collection can be viewed at this link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.