Cowslips

I was out just after 7:30 with Finlay and I did retrieve my hat from storage..and was very glad I did, the wind was bitterly cold blowing across open fields!

We walked up the old A1 layby, which is a bit more sheltered and I stopped to photograph this little clump of cowslips on the verge. There don't seem to so many around this year.

On the way back Finlay became unsettled and started fidgeting about on his lead...and then suddenly a little herd of four deer appeared but they were off again very quickly before I could even get my camera out. I am wondering if it was the same group we saw the other day..only about a mile away from the woods, but across a road and open fields. I really ought to be more aware when Finlay starts .. he can obviously sense them before I can!

After breakfast we went up to Darlington to see Mrs madwill's mother. She is recovering well from her broken foot, but still can't drive. We went out to Leyburn to visit a quilting and patchwork exhibition (yawn) and then had a very nice lunch in a pub in the town. A quick wander around a couple of shops and then back to Darlington and then back home for us. Another day with four hours driving for me!

Straw Poll Time... Hot cross buns...toasted or untoasted?? We were a bit taken aback to be served cold untoasted buns today. MIL seemed to think it was normal! What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.