A Surfeit Of Saddles

My favourite fungus (!) - the Dryad's Saddle  - makes another appearance this year. This time showing the scale of the colony on this felled tree trunk.

It grows so fast and reaches amazing sizes. Only 10 days ago I blipped one that was about 5cm across - now I could place three of my walking boots side by side across the top (approx 30cm).

This was taken in the gloom of a very cold early morning walk - beginning to regret washing and storing my hat and gloves! I thought summer was a-coming!

Later Mrs madwill and I went to Skipton - arrived about 9:30 and after a hearty breakfast we wandered around the shops and the street market. we bought a few bits here and there and then drove home via Embsay and the scenic route over the top towards Bolton Abbey. We stopped for a bit to look at the beautiful views across to Barden Fell and Simon's Seat - see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.