Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Birds and Blooms - continued

The shadbush (service berry) tree is outdoing itself this year with the blooms.  And, since I've put a feeder and water nearby, it serves as a convenient resting spot for the birds between meals.  Once the sun went behind the clouds, I got some good photos of various birds in the blooms.  Figured I'd go with a cardinal since 1) they are looking especially grand at the moment, and 2) I think it's been a while since I've blipped one.  It was a toss up between the male and another shot of the female, looking lovely in the blooms.

Meanwhile, in bluebird news... those darned House Sparrows refuse to leave and have now commandeered TWO boxes that the bluebirds were considering.  I've tried using fishing line to discourage them (this worked last year) but one particular male has bonded with one of the boxes and simply refuses to leave it.  So, after some research, I've ordered a special contraption to install in the box which will allow me to trap and relocate the culprit.  It's humane and looks easy enough to use - we'll see.  So, look out, you little villain, I'm coming for you!  

In case you are wondering, House/English Sparrows are not native to N. America, having been introduced here in the 1800's.  They quickly spread through the US and, because of their aggressive nesting habits, put our native bluebird species in peril.  House sparrows will kill bluebirds, chickadees, swallows and anything else that they find in a nest cavity that they want to use.  I know quite a few people who've had the horrible experience of finding an entire brood of baby birds, dead on the ground under a box that a house sparrow has found. So, while trapping them may seem dire, it is far better than the alternative.  Stay tuned...

MIL was in good form today and we enjoyed a nice visit this morning.  Following that, Hubs and I took both cats to the vet for their annual check-ups.  Looks like Phoebe is in need of some dental work so, pending results of her blood test today, we'll be scheduling her for a return visit.  Both cats wailed all the way to the vet (making for an unpleasant car ride for everyone), and then tried to shed ALL of their hair on us while they were at the vet (cats shed vigorously when they are stressed).  Hubs and I came home wearing so much cat hair that it felt like we had little fur coats...  

Rain in the forecast for tomorrow.  Probably a good thing since I really need to get some things done around here.  Like housework.  Yuck.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.