Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Tuesday...with a Leaf

First walk of the year with my nature group and although we didn't see a lot of things, this tiny eastern garter snake was a hit.  In total, it was about 12 inches/30 cm long and I suspect it's head was about the size of my thumb.  It was chilly so he wasn't moving all that fast, but did manage to slither under a rather large fallen leaf where he tried his best to hide.  And a good job of it too as we'd have never seen the snake had we not seen it move.  

Back home by early afternoon so I spent some time in the garden.  And, I confirmed what I had thought my ears were telling me yesterday - the first House Wren is here!  I was quite certain I'd heard him yesterday morning, but I got a clear look at him surrounded by the flowers of our shadbush.  Had it not been TinyTuesday, I would have blipped him as part of my Birds and Blooms series.  Still have a few days left on the shadbush flowers, so who knows...

Thank you for continuing to keep my bluebirds on the Pops page!  The pair have been visiting the yard periodically throughout the day, but no signs of nesting yet.  And, now that the wren has arrived, the drama at all of the nest boxes is about to increase significantly.  We'll see...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.