Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Madame ... times two

I awoke a little later than usual and was sitting at the kitchen table, just watching the activity in the garden and the pair of bluebirds in particular...when I noticed that Monsieur had not one but TWO lady bluebirds in tow this morning!  Interestingly, this same thing happened last spring and the second female even started a nest in one of my other boxes, only to abandon it before it was even finished.  As a general practice, bluebirds are monogamous; however, it is not entirely unheard of for a male to keep two females.  

The female that I presume to be the dominant lady (seen here) eventually chased the second female away from the box in the patio garden.  As seems to be the norm this week, they stayed around for awhile, guarding the box and then left to conduct their important bluebird business.

I spent some time in the hide (although it was uncomfortably cold out this morning) and watched the brown thrasher gobbling up suet before disappearing.  A short while later, I heard him singing, which is a good sign as it should signify that he's guarding nesting territory.  We'll see.

My wrist/elbow are continuing to improve, although slowly.  An ibuprofin in the morning seems to take the edge off for most of the day.  And a glass of wine in the evening does the trick until bedtime.  

The sun is finally starting to come out and the temps have risen to the low 40's so Hubs and I are headed out for a walk.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.