Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Move aside! (Yardbirds # 23 and 24)

The first Brown Thrasher of this season showed up in our yard 3 days ago, flashing his gorgeous rufous tail around as he took over the suet feeder.  For the last two springs, I've had a pair of them nesting somewhere on our property, so I'm hoping for a repeat this year.  In the meantime, I'll enjoy the fleeting glances of this showy bird.

Usually starlings can (and do) hold their own at the feeder against everyone, but they met their match with the thrasher who was not to be deterred.  Eventually three starlings were under the feeder while the thrasher gobbled suet from above them.  I took this through the kitchen window, so it's not very sharp, but I like the interaction between the two.  You can clearly see the thrasher talking smack to the starling.  And, this knocks off two more species in my YardBird 2018 self-challenge.  

Hubs seems to be feeling marginally better today, although still definitely in the throws of a man-cold.  Ladies, I have been assured that there is no possible way we can truly appreciate the gravity of a man-cold.

I was also delighted to see a big Pileated Woodpecker at the edge of our woods today - he is featured in Extra.  Also through the double-pane window ... sigh.

I popped in on MIL today and woke her from a nap.  We lazed on her bed and chatted and laughed for a while until she was fully awake and ready to get up.  Nice break in the day.

I'm having some challenges driving as I can't rotate my right wrist very well, making turns hard.  Luckily, the drive into town is only a few miles and the speed limit is slow so I can manage it.  Highway driving definitely not an option right now.  That said, I continue to feel a little better each day, so yay me!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great Tuesday...

xo
Debbi

And a sad footnote - Barbara Bush has passed away. I admired her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.