Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, # 27

This is the 44th species seen in/from my yard so far this year; and the 27th to be blipped.  Not only that, I believe this is the first time I've ever seen on in our yard!  This cute little guy is a Pine Warbler, one of the New World wood warblers and resident in the eastern United States.  He probably just arrived from his wintering grounds in the southeastern US, because he was busy visiting the suet feeder throughout the afternoon.  If I had wanted a better photo, I supposed I could have moved the feeder to the flowering shadbush, but I didn't want to make him work any harder than necessary.  So, no birds in the blooms today.

My second choice for a blip would have been the rather frisky pair of squirrels who were cavorting (and other things) in the trees this morning. Those naughty squirrels!

And the bluebirds were in the garden most of the morning, catching tasty insects (and one massive furry caterpillar) and going back and forth between two nest boxes.  The one closest to the house has the barest beginnings of a nest, so I'm keeping fingers crossed.  Meanwhile, the House Wren has started singing in earnest now which can only mean that he'll be wanting to start his many nests soon too.  Sparrow trap due to arrive Monday...

I arrived to visit MIL just as the residents were in the midst of a round of tabletop volleyball.  This involves batting a blow-up beach ball all over the table and, let me just say, things got pretty wild.  MIL was demonstrating her technique (as well as her competitive spirit) and going head to head with two other ladies who appeared to be equally competitive.  Hilarity ensued.

Things in the woods are getting greener by the day and my gardens are already showing lots of growth.  And soon, very soon, the hummingbirds will be back...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.