Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Not a monkey...

Although we were not lucky enough to see any of the tribes of rhesus monkeys on the Silver River today, there were so many other wonderful things to see and photograph that none of us really felt disappointed. Our guide and boat captain both did an absolutely wonderful job pointing out wildlife and getting the boat into positions to allow us all to get terrific photos. For all of us I think one of the highlights was seeing a barred owl. In fact, I really thought about blipping that today. Or the adorable wood duck babies, or the adorable moorhen babies, or the adorable alligator babies, or any of the myriad of other fantastic things we saw.

But after the boat cruise and after a great lunch as we were headed out in search of red cockaded woodpecker's and scrub Jays, Hilly spotted some Sandhill Cranes. As we veered off the side of the road to get a better look we realized that the pair of cranes had 2 gawky and adorable Colts with them. Now I've always wanted to see sandhill crane babies, so for me today's blip became a no-brainer. My only dilemma was which shot to choose. I landed on this one just because I like the interaction between the parent and the baby, and the sense of anticipation on the part of the baby is it waits to be fed. For me this was a huge awwww moment.

We're all having dinner tonight, and then tomorrow morning Sefferdog is going to drive me to the Orlando airport where I will fly home to hubs. I'll be sad to say goodbye to Hilly, Simon, Wade and Jennifer, but also happy to get home to my husband, the cats, and my backyard birds.

Ciao
debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.