Marathon

I have full admiration for every single one of the 40,000 odd runners in today's London marathon. My brother in law Bruce and his friend Steve ran it for the first time, and my sister was in London to support them. I really wish I could have been there too; the atmosphere looks amazing from the tv coverage. Instead I sat in front of the tv all day. Peeled my veg & did my ironing. Among all those bobbing heads, I didn't see them, but they came in in 4 hours 45 minutes or thereabouts. Amazing! Soooo well done both. It said #beinspired on the screen. But I really can't run. I've tried before. I am inspired to try something though. I do worry about how unfit and fat I am.

Well done to anyone else I know who was running today. Especially Alan. You can now go home and have a nice hot bath and shave that rug off your face.

I cooked a nice roast leg of lamb early, as Jon and Henry had to go to the St Georges Day parade in Sheringham. Mollie went out in the car to Cromer for the 60's event on the pier. I stayed at home and did some weeding by the stream. So much ground elder. Had a chat to my hens. They were clucking loudly, but still haven't laid an egg for a week. Hopefully my words will prompt them to.

Ironing continues, more washing in and out, and now some good tv drama with The Durrells and then Grantchester. And another new week begins...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.