Five years

They sent him Bishop Aiden, a man of outstanding gentleness, devotion and moderation . . .
 
This is not the picture I had imagined; it is not at all as I had imagined it. I had planned for a picture with stories in stone, layers of history and some wonder – the three things I think I am known for. So, it had to be Holy Island and the Priory. We set off early to get to the Causeway for the first safe crossing time and we did go through a quite a bit of water, slightly scary. We arrived at the Priory as it opened and made straight for the ruins, leaving the museum etc. for later. We didn’t even go in search of coffee, such was the dedication! I hoped that I might get there before many people and could avoid the re-enactment or whatever it was that was planned for later.
 
And that’s where the plans went awry. The light was flat, no colour in the sky, visitors were arriving all the time and the three actors strewed the place with their props and costumes and themselves rehearsing, a car even arrived and parked in the middle and then a canopy and stall was set up for the selling of mead and suchlike. Not the best circumstances for the picture I was hoping for!
 
Then the action began and it was actually rather good. Excellent acting and a super script, telling the story of the Priory with humour, a good degree of historical accuracy and some contemporary political undertones. I liked this part where Bishop Aiden was introduced to the islanders by King Oswald, just the bit of the story that I am currently reading. The confusion of the people when told they were to worship one god not many; the fact that they did not even realise that they had a new King – all rang so true. They were not the only people to live in confusing times!
 
So, not what I had planned, but I decided this was the picture for today – the stones of the Priory and history being brought to life.
 
I love Lindisfarne, but not when it is full of people. We soon left them to it and hastened away.

********************
So, five years blipping – what can I say. A blip every day, on the day (almost). A wonderful place with fabulous people that I am so pleased to belong to. Thanks to everyone for making it the precious community it is. I am still here and am not thinking of leaving any time soon.
*********************

   
(Here’s where I was when celebrating four years!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.