Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Muskrat Love

I decided to go out on a quest for Sora (a rail) this morning and got a bonus Muskrat!  I was very quietly walking along the edge of a marshy area when I heard some soft splashing - and when I looked in the reeds, there was a big muskrat paddling along.  At one point, as he/she came out into an open patch of water, it headed straight towards me which is when I snapped this shot.  Full frame, no crop.  It was distracted when a second muskrat put in an appearance and both paddled off into the reeds to do important muskrat business.  There is something kind of funny about muskrats, so I think this qualifies for Silly Saturday

In addition to the Sora, I also head both Virginia Rail and American Bittern.  And, saw my first Great Crested Flycatchers and Palm Warlber of the year.  Later in the afternoon, I heard a Great-crested f/c back in the woods behind our house.  Hoping they nest nearby this year. 

Hubs and I went out for lunch, then swung by Home Depot to get the second 10 bags of mulch so far today.  I pottered around in the garden, planting things, taking photos, and (unfortunately) picking up a few ticks.  No tick survives when I find it.  I'm usually not a "killing" person, but I make an exception for any and all ticks.  Two rounds with Lyme Disease has left me with very little sense of humor about the little horrors. 

The bluebirds are STILL working on the nest!  This is going to be the Taj Mahal of nests by the time they get done.  

Cheers.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.