Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RHS Wisley

Today I had a parent's arts society event which was a guided tour of RHS Wisley. When I checked the weather forecast last week, it showed sunshine and a lovely warm day - well I don't know what happened since then, because today was very cold with a bit of rain at times. However, we enjoyed the tour and carried on regardless of the weather!

Disappointingly all the tulips and spring flowers were already over - when I booked this a few months ago I thought I had timed it so that we would see all the spring flowers. However, it is an ever changing garden and there was still plenty to see and get excited about! I have added an extra of the rock garden, and also a bed of these striking tall purple flowers that I cannot remember the name of. From afar they looked like agapanthus but on closer inspection they are quite different, tall and straight. Some poor gardener must have spent hours planting all those bulbs!

I stayed for lunch in the café and had a good catch up with some friends who were on the tour. It was a good day out, despite the lack of promised sunshine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.