A time for everything

By turnx3

Ospreys on nest

Tuesday
I woke in the early hours  to the sound of rain and thunder, however by the time we got up, the skies had cleared and the sun was shining once again. One of the nice things about Sanibel is the bike path paralleling most of the main roads on the island, so today we went biking to the lighthouse at the other end of the island - about 12 miles. we passed more bird life on the way - a great egret, just walking along beside the bike path - didn't seem particularly bothered by us - and also three or four white ibis checking out a little temporary "pond" formed by last night's rain. The bird I photographed most today however, was the osprey. I saw one on the metal framed lighthouse, then a second one as we were walking to the beach - he was on a tree stump just off to our left, enjoying his recent catch, and finally the two I have blipped, seen on their nest, as we were returning from the beach. Going back to our bike ride, I should add that I didn't cycle the 12 miles back to our apartment - Roger (who does a lot more biking than me!) cycled back and brought the car back! On a good day I could do 24 miles, but I haven't done so for quite a while, and not at around midday in about 85 F temperatures!

One year ago: Sighisoara

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.