A time for everything

By turnx3

Out on the bike trail

Wednesday
There’s the chance of rain and thunderstorms in the forecast for the next couple of days, so we thought we would make the most of today’s beautiful weather, and take our exercise outside once again, and go biking on the Little Miami trail. We went after breakfast, driving up to Mathers Mill, and cycled north through Corwin. I added a few miles to my last ride, doing a total of 18 miles, while Roger continued further, and did a total of 26. I thought I was maintaining a good pace on the outward leg, and when I turned around I realised why - we’d had a tail wind much of the way! The area around Corwen was pretty tough coming back, as the trail is pretty open through there, and I was battling the wind. Fortunately, it did improve further south where the trail is more sheltered by trees. I stopped several times for photos on the way back, so Roger caught up with me about 3 miles from the end. We then drove a bit further north, to Spring Valley Wildlife area, a wetland area bordering the bike trail, and went for a short walk along the waters edge. We saw a water snake, several turtles, including a teeny tiny baby one, not much more than an inch across, a couple of frogs, a Canada goose family, with 3 goslings, and a large number of coots. So between the shots I had taken on the bike trail, and those at the wildlife area, I had a hard time choosing which one to blip. I finally decided to go with this red barn and Spring blossom bordering the bike trail near Corwen.
One year ago: Ospreys on nest

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.