Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day off!

I've enjoyed a day off from doing festival photos etc. My car needed a service and I took it to the garage for 11am. That gave me time for a bit of  mooch around the shops and lunch before I went to hear Robert Bluck in the Hexham Book Festival.

I bought a small shoulder bag in Gaia; it will be perfect for my passport and documents when I go to the USA. (Please note dollydoug - I occasionally buy bags too!)

Robert Bluck is a retired academic librarian, who has published his first novel. If it is anything like as engaging and entertaining as he is, then it will do well. I've bought a copy and started reading it in Café Nero, where I drank 2 cappucinos!! What decadence.

Only 10 people attended the event, and one was the local bookseller. I'm sorry because I like to support local authors. Mum couldn't come because she had offered to help out by taking the Humshaugh Mothers' Union meeting. She spoke about women in the Bible and enjoyed the preparation and delivery.

I decided this morning that I could not go on Isaac's Tea Trail tomorrow. Aggie was too swollen. She perked up once she knew - typical - but I feel it is the right decision. I went and booked some extra book festival events that we can go to now. It was no good wallowing in self-pity, so I had to do something positive.

PS Robert Bluck has two previous books to his name: one is Team Management (Library Training Guide), 1996, which he says is boring; the second is  British Buddhism: Teachings, Practice and Development, 2006, which is "10 years out of date".

I wonder if we will wait another 10 years for the second novel. I hope not.

How did I forget to say that I voted in the local elections today?! Apparently there was a good turnout in our ward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.